ALBA-FKNE Diversity Prize

With this Diversity prize, The ALBA Network and the The FENS-Kavli Scholars wish to highlight a scientist that has made outstanding contributions to promoting equality and diversity in the brain sciences.

The promotion of equality and diversity — e.g. by gender, race, sexual orientation, class, or culture — in research depends upon leaders and role models that catalyse a full integration of all scientists across academic levels. This annual award will recognise an individual that has made outstanding contributions to this effort, including but not limited to advocacy, mentorship or the creation of diversity-promoting initiatives.

This prize is awarded by the ALBA and FKNE networks, annually, at either the FENS Forum or the FENS Regional Meetings (FRM). The 2024 winner will be announced at the next FENS Forum in Vienna, Austria from 25-29 June 2024.


The awardee will receive prize money of €2000 for personal use and additional financial support to cover the awardee’s travel to and participation in the conference where the prize will be awarded.

Eligibility criteria

This year we will celebrate the efforts of researchers at all career stages, including students, postdocs and principal investigators. They should be based in Europe and work at least 50% in a European research institution

Nomination procedure

The call welcomes nominations of an individual by someone as well as self-nomination. Applications should include a statement (max. 1 page) indicating the merits of the nominee on promoting equality and diversity in the field of brain sciences and any relevant activities organised by the nominee to contribute to this goal.

The 2024 call for nominations is closed.


Selection Committee

Andrew Lin, Committee Chair (ALBA and FKNE - UK)

Carmen Sandi (ALBA - Switzerland)

Elisabeth Binder (ALBA - Germany)

Simona Lodato (FKNE - Italy)

Lora Sweeney (FKNE - Austria)


Past Winners

Prof. Narender Ramnani

Winner 2024

Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Arish Mudra Rakshasa-Loots

Winner 2023

University of Edinburgh, UK

Dr Mahmoud Bukar Maina

Winner 2022

University of Sussex, UK

Prof. Marian Joëls

Winner 2021

University Medical Center, Utrecht, Netherlands

Prof. Erin Schuman

Winner 2020

Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt, Germany