Travel awards for the FENS Forum 2024

The ALBA Network is offering travel awards for early-career brain science researchers from underrepresented backgrounds to participate in the next edition of the FENS Forum, taking place on 25-29 June 2024 in Vienna, Austria. The grants are supported by the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) and the Chica and Heinz Schaller Foundation (CHS).

The 2024 call for nominations is closed.

Prize details

Travel awards will be granted at two levels:

  • €1250 for EU-based candidates
  • €2500 for non-EU-based candidates

Each travel grant will be provided as a lump sum. Awardees can use this amount to cover various expenses associated with their participation in the FENS Forum, including Forum registration, abstract submission fees, as well as travel and accommodation costs.

Eligibility criteria

  • Applicant must be an active early-career researcher (maximum 10 years from obtaining the last professional degree - PhD or MD).
  • Applicants can be of any origin residing in any country.
  • Applicants must identify with one or more underrepresented group(s) as defined by ALBA (see below)
  • Applicants must be members of the ALBA Network (or become members at the time of application).

You are not eligible to apply if you have already received another travel award to attend the FENS Forum.

Who qualifies as an underrepresented person?

An underrepresented minority can be defined as an individual whose percentage of the population in a given group is lower than their percentage of the population in the country. At the ALBA Network, our definition of an underrepresented person is someone who identifies with one or more of the following:

  • Women
  • LGBTQIA+ individuals
  • With disability, neurodivergence or chronic medical condition
  • Of first generation status (being the first in a family to attend university)
  • Born into racial, ethnic or caste groups that are historically underrepresented in their country of origin and/or work
  • Who do not speak English as their primary language
  • Living in low socio-economic area
  • Facing forced migration or displacement due to war, human rights abuses, political conflict, natural disasters
  • With difficult personal circumstances (e.g., caregiving responsibilities)
  • From families with low-income or limited social mobility
  • Weak passport holders (according to latest Henley Passport Index)
  • Studying or working in a country with low gross domestic expenditure on R&D (GERD) (according to latest UIS data)
Please note that this is a working definition. Practices, identities and minority status may change over time, depending on culture and geopolitics, and as such, feedback is very welcome.

Application procedure

Candidates are required to submit the following:

  1. A poster abstract and publications that support this.
  2. A description of their research interests that align with the mission of FENS and the sponsor.
  3. Completion of a CV template, providing details on honors and awards, academic appointments, other scientific presentations at conferences, and additional activities such as teaching and mentoring.
  4. Candidates should select the relevant eligibility/underrepresented group category/categories listed in the application form and explain why they made that choice.

Selection of the award winner will be based on the quality of application, the abstract, excellence of the science and relevance to the sponsor.

Selection Committee

Bita Moghaddam, Committee Chair (USA)

Carmen Sandi (Switzerland)

Jordan Marrocco (USA)

Mahmoud Bukar Maina (UK)

Jacque Pak Kan Ip (Hong Kong)

Angela Roberts (UK)

Shelly Flagel (USA)


ALBA-ACNP travel awardees

Nazim Kourdougli, University of California Los Angeles, USA

Sandip Shah, B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Nepal

ALBA-CHS travel awardees

Amina Abulimiti, Imperial College London, UK

Ivana Guševac Stojanović, University of Belgrade, Serbia

Hanna Dumanska, Bogomoletz Institute of Physiology National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Ukraine

Ioanna Pandi, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH), Greece

Shahaboddin Zarei, Institute of Neuroscience (ION), SIBS CAS, China

Noelia Antón-Bolaños, Harvard University, USA

Ghiyamihoor Farshid, University of Manitoba, Canada

Francisco Parada, Universidad Diego Portales, Chile

Joelma Alves Lucio, Universidad Federal de Río Grande del Sur (UFRGS), Brazil

Jitendra Kumar Sinha, GloNeuro Academy, India