Breaking down the ivory tower: Maria José Diógenes

Zoom Webinar


Watch the recording of this webinar

With this webinar series, the ALBA Disability & Accessibility Working Group aims to bring down the ivory tower of ableism among the brain research community, one extraordinary neuroscientist at a time. These webinars give a platform to scientists with disabilities across the globe and neuroscience disciplines, while reflecting on how to promote inclusive working environments and accessibility to research.

For this 4th episode, Dr. Maria José Diógenes (iMM - ULisboa, PT) will talk about how her personal story changed her professional life: from the pharmacy to the laboratory bench and from ageing to Rett Syndrome.


Maria José Diógenes

Maria José Diógenes (MJD) is PharmD, Master in Neurosciences and PhD in Biomedical Sciences, Basic Neurosciences. In 2018 MJD obtained the Aggregation in Medicine, Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Lisbon (FMUL). MJD is Associate Professor of Pharmacology and General Therapeutics at FMUL, certified pharmacologist by EPHAR and researcher at the Instituto de Medicina Molecular João Lobo Antunes, Faculdade de Medicina, Universidade de Lisboa, where she coordinates a research group focused on strategies to restore the actions of neurotrophic factors in pathological conditions. MJD has experience as principal investigator of several nationally and internationally funded projects and has won 2 Santa Casa Mantero Belard awards (2017 and 2021). MJD has supervised over 25 MSc students, 9 PhD students (3 ongoing) and co-supervised 2 PhD students (1 ongoing).  MJD is the president of the Portuguese Society of Pharmacology, president of the pedagogical council of FMUL, member of the executive committee of EPHAR and member of the Committee for the Evaluation of Medicines of INFARMED.



Profile picture for user draddis
Donna Rose
Baycrest Health Sciences

Disability & Accessibility Working Group

Catarina Miranda⎥Rhiannon McNeill⎥Donna Rose Addis⎥Inês Barros⎥Isabel Castanho⎥Matthew Grubb⎥Heather Macpherson⎥Ilya Smolensky